R. David Britt

Winston Ko Professor in Science Leadership Distinguished Professor of Chemistry University of California, Davis

Department of Chemistry, 1 Shields Ave., Davis CA 95616, USA Tel: +1 530 752 6377; Cell: +1 530 400 9142; E-mail: <u>rdbritt@ucdavis.edu</u>; web: brittepr.faculty.ucdavis.edu

Education:

B.S. Physics, North Carolina State University, Raleigh NC 1978 Ph.D Physics, University of California, Berkeley, CA 1988 (Melvin P. Klein, advisor)

Professional Positions:

1989-1994	Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of California at Davis
1994-1997	Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of California at Davis
1997-	Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of California at Davis
2005-2008	Chair, Department of Chemistry, University of California at Davis
2025-2026	Interim Chair, Department of Chemistry, University of California at Davis

Honors and Awards:

1978-81	National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship, University of California, Berkeley
1989	Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Award
1995	International EPR Society Young Investigator Award
2012	Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
2012	Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Visiting Fellow
2014	International EPR Society Gold Medal (awarded every third year)
2015	University of California Distinguished Professor
2016	Royal Society of Chemistry Bruker Prize and Lecture (University of Essex)
2016	Gorter Lecture (Physics Department, University of Leiden)
2017	Humphrey Lecture (University of Vermont)
2018	Winston Ko Professorship in Science Leadership (endowed chair at UC Davis; renewed 2023)
2018	Zavoisky Award (Kazan Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences)
2019	Royal Society of Chemistry Bioinorganic Chemistry Award
2019	Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry
2019	Inaugural Watt Lecture in Bioinorganic Chemistry (University of Texas, Austin)
2020	Fellow of the International EPR Society
2020	Fellow of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance

- 2022 ACS Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry
- 2023 Visiting Miller Professor, University of California Berkeley
- 2023 Elected, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
- 2024 North Carolina State University Distinguished Alumnus Award for the College of Sciences

Professional Service:

- 2000-04 Member, National Institutes of Health Metallobiochemistry Study Section 2006 Chair of the Photosynthesis Gordon Research Conference 2008-Editorial Board, Photosynthesis Research (Springer) 2008-13 Scientific Advisory Board, NSF Center for Chemical Innovation in Solar Fuels. 2010-13 Elected Member, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory EMR Advisory Committee 2012-17 External Advisory Committee, ASU Center for Bio-Inspired Solar Fuel Production 2014-External Advisory Committee, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Tallahassee FL 2016-20 Scientific Advisory Board, National Biomedical Center for Advanced ESR Technology (Cornell University) 2017-External Advisory Committee, University of Florida NIH Biomedical Technology Research Resource (NMR/DNP)
- 2017 Chair of the Metals in Biology Gordon Research Conference